Sugar Plum Vegan

Sweetly Humane musings from a vegan bakeress

One Hot Mama!! Coconut Serrano Cupcakes with Avocado Lime Filling and Toasted Coconut Buttercream– My Iron Cupcake:Earth–Chili Challenge Entry August 23, 2008

Filed under: 1 — Jivana @ 4:33 pm
Vote for my Coconut Serrano Cupcake!!  Click on the photo to vote.

Vote for my Coconut Serrano Cupcake!! Click on the photo to vote.

Ever since I joined the Daring Bakers I’ve really enjoyed the idea of challenge baking with a group of talented chefs from all over the world. It really inspires me and helps get my creative juices flowing. So when I came across Iron Cupcake:Earth I was estatic! I’ve watched the original Iron Chef on TV before but was always grossed out by all the meat they used; however I thought the idea of using a specific food to make your items with was interesting. You can get so many different takes and ideas using this one food and that fascinated me.

Iron Cupcake:Earth is similar to this concept and the best part is that there is voting for the best ideas and they offer prizes!! Woo Hoo! Who doesn’t like a prize for baking? This is the first challenge for the group and the ingredient is the chili pepper. I liked this ingredient because it’s fun to add spicy or savory item to your sweet baking. It brings out a complexity that you just don’t get from only using sweet ingredients. I really think I’m going to like being a part of Iron Cupcake!

And now for the prizes.. We will be competing to win original artwork from the wonderful and talented Etsy artist Cakespy as well as a awesome Cupcake Courier, a cute as a button apron from Jessie Steele Aprons and finally a cookbook from Taste of Home.

I’m happy with my entry. I really think the flavors blend together tastefully and delicously!

So Vote for me at No One Puts Cupcake in a Corner from Sunday, August 31, at 9 a.m.PST until Thursday, September 4, at 9 a.m.PST. Support your local vegan Hot Mama Baker.

Beautiful Serrano

Beautiful Serrano

Coconut Serrano Cupcake with Avocado Lime Filling and a Toasted Coconut Buttercream
(Vegan and Wheat Free)

Preheat Oven 350 degrees

Cake

1 1/2 cup organic white spelt
2 1/4 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp sea salt
Combine these dry ingredients in bowl and set aside

Cream in a mixer
8 Tbs Earth Balance Vegan Spread
1 cup organic sugar

Add first and mix
1/2 cup natural coconut milk (get one with no preservatives)

Add Second and mix
1/4 cup vanilla soy yogurt

Add Third and mix
2 En-R-G Egg Replacer “eggs” whisked stiff

Now add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients

Finally add 1-2 Tbs pureed serrano chili pepper, adjust the hottness to your likening

Scoop mixture in cupcake holders a little less than 3/4 of the way up–these babies rise!
Bake for 30-35 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool before filling and frosting.

Avocado-Lime Filling

This is actually “raw” and I use it in one of my raw tarts. It’s delicious to just eat on it’s on so don’t be upset if you have a little extra.
2 ripe avocados
1/4 cup agave nectar
Juice from 1 large, ripe lime–or 2 small ones if you can’t find a large
1 Tbs of lime zest
1 Tbs coconut butter
1/4 tsp sea salt
Blend all ingredients in the food processor until smooth and creamy and oh so good!
Cover and refridgerate for 2 hours before using so it sets. Don’t worry about the avocado turning brown–the lime stabalizes it and keeps the lovely green color.

Toasted Coconut Buttercream

Blend in mixer until smooth
1/2 cup Earth Balance Vegan Spread

Add
2 1/2 cups of sifted, organic powdered sugar (use organic!)
Blend for a few minutes and then

Add
1/4 cup coconut milk (there should be leftovers from your cake so conserve a can and use it)!
Add
2 tsp organic coconut extract
Blend until it becomes powdery and fluffy. Refridgerate a few hours or make the night before.

Garnish
Toast unsweetened coconut flakes in a 325 oven for a few minutes. Be sure to watch them because they can burn easily.

To Assemble

Scoop a hole into your cupcakes for the filling. Eat the scraps and get yourself on a sugar high.

Fill each cupcake with the avocado lime filling. I used a pastry bag and piped it in.

Refridgerate for 30 minutes so the filling can set again.

When set, frost the edges with the coconut buttercream using a piping bag.

Sprinkle the toasted coconut around the edges.
Viola!
Enjoy the firey cupcake balance by the cool filling and sweet frosting.

 

3 Responses to “One Hot Mama!! Coconut Serrano Cupcakes with Avocado Lime Filling and Toasted Coconut Buttercream– My Iron Cupcake:Earth–Chili Challenge Entry”

  1. Libby Says:

    This sounds amazing!!!! I totally love the avocado idea, and just think that your cupcakes are beautiful as well as earth-conscious. Great work!

    Libby

  2. Veronica Says:

    These look like such a great entry! It looks totally lovely; sounds delicious too. I can’t get enough avocado. Or lime. Or coconut…

    Good luck with them!!

  3. Rachel Says:

    This one is SO creative! I’m doing a roundup of my contest favorites on my blog today and this is one of them!


Leave a Reply

