Sugar Plum Vegan

Sweetly Humane musings from a vegan bakeress

Scarlet’s Birthday Cake July 31, 2008

Filed under: baking,vegan — Jivana @ 8:56 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
Happy Birthday Scarlet
Happy Birthday Scarlet

Last week I got a message through my blog from a lovely woman named Claire if I make birthday cakes. Her daughter Scarlet was turning one and was allergic to dairy and soy. I told her that it would be no problem to make her a cake. I was planning on using a cashew creme frosting I used before for a gluten/soy free wedding cake. I wanted Claire to know the ingredients I would be using so i sent them over to her and wouldn’t you know it–Scarlet’s allergic to nuts too–as well as citrus and berries.
My palms became sweaty for a moment as I nervously thought, “how am I going to make a frosting that doesn’t fall apart?” Another message from Claire told me that Scarlet could have coconut.
Amen to that!!
So I made a frosting of coconut oil and milk, agave nectar and arrowroot powder. It was a bit tricky and wasn’t holding up like I wanted it to so I added a bit of organic spelt flour to it and YES I had frosting
that would spread and pipe.
So I let that sit overnight to set and proceed to make a delicious vanilla spelt cake with oat milk. The texture was dense and delicious. I have never baked with oat milk before and I was quite pleased with
the results. My baking time on the cake seemed to take a little longer than usual but that was the
only difference.

Layers of love for Scarlet
Layers of love for Scarlet

I decorated the cake very simply with toasted coconut, a pearl border and fresh roses from our garden. Scarlet and her family enjoyed the cake immensely. I really love being able to make something for someone who can’t usually enjoy the sweet luxuries of life that we have grown accustomed to.

 

Leave a Reply

